October 2

When it just wouldn’t take off by James

Running, flapping, tripping. Pain. A blur. Blackness.

I woke, my breathing heavy echoing in the cool, black room .

“Oh so now you decide to wake up?”  asked a familiar blunt voice a click illuminated the room blue hangings were draped around me, staring back at me were brilliant emerald eyes on a lean face. “Luca! ” I said my older brother smiled “So are you going to tell me what happened?”

“OK,” I replied “I tried to make a contraption fly!”

“And when it just wouldn’t take off?”

“I tried to fly off a cathedrals.” Luca smiled his contagious smile.

Drawn by Tim Culkin

Not every day is good but there is good in every day!

 


Posted October 2, 2019 by james in category Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “When it just wouldn’t take off by James

  1. Mrs. G.

    James,
    Your writing style is a joy to read. I especially enjoyed the way you used the series of words as your lead. You pulled me right in.
    Keep writing.
    Mrs. G., Team 100, Guilderland, NY, USA

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*